Friday, December 28, 2007

Raila ahead as Awori, Kombo fall

Exit polls and preliminary tallies by three leading Kenyan broadcasters place ODM presidential candidate Raila Odinga firmly in the lead. Counting continued through the night in polling stations across Kenya, in what is seen as the country's closest-ever elections. ECK officials said that turnout was "massive", and could reach 70%. Figures coming in show Raila at 809,009 votes so far, Kibaki at 460,206 votes and Kalonzo at 20,048 votes.

Other reports show that ruling party big fish got the shock of their lives when they were outrightly rejected by their constituents. Early casualties of Election 2007 are Vice President Hon. Dr. Arthur Moody Awori, cabinet ministers Mutahi Kagwe, Musikari Kombo, Moses Akaranga and Paul Sang. Awori lost the Funyula parliamentary seat to the ODM candidate Dr. Paul Otuoma, and now holds the distinction as the second VP in Kenyan history to lose a parliamentary seat. Ford–Kenya supremo and former Webuye MP, Musikari Kombo, has lost the seat to Alfred Sambu of ODM. Preliminary results also indicate that Trade and Industry minister Dr. Mukhisa Kituyi is trailing.

Information and Communications minister "Lord" Mutahi Kagwe has lost to former chairman of Nairobi Water and Sewerage Company Kabando wa Kabando of Safina. Kagwe initiated many development projects in his Mukurweini constituency, both through the CDF concept and from his own pocket, and it will puzzle many people how Kabando wa Kabando pulled the carpet from under his feet. Health Minister Paul Sang has lost to former State House Comptroller Frankline Bett of ODM. Sang was appointed to the position just two months to the election after Kibaki’s ally and Health Minister, Charity Ngilu, declared her support for ODM presidential candidate Raila Odinga.

Other results show that ODM Pentagon member and Raila Odinga’s running mate, Musalia Mudavadi, has trounced Public Service minister Moses Akaranga of PNU. Najib Balala has won the Mvita seat, beating former Mombasa mayor Taib Ali Taib. Former Keiyo South MP and Kanu strongman Nicholas Biwott lost the seat to Jackson Kiptanui of ODM. In Ugenya constituency, lawyer James Orengo will make a political come back after clinching the seat he lost in 2002.

No comments: