Friday, December 28, 2007

VP, 14 ministers face the wrath of Kenyans

President Mwai Kibaki’s cabinet faced its biggest embarrassment yet as 14 ministers lost their parliamentary seats, while five others are facing imminent defeat.

Vice President Moody Awori and other regional leaders in charge of Kibaki campaign faced the wrath of voters and were trounced by mainly ODM candidates as vote counting for the hotly contested elections continued countrywide. The ministers include Musikari Kombo, Newton Kulundu, Kipruto Kirwa, Moses Akaranga, Simeon Nyachae, Njenga Karume, Raphael Tuju, David Mwiraria, Mohamud Abdi Mohammed, Morris Dzoro, Suleiman Shakombo, Mutahi Kagwe and Paul Sang. Four other ministers, particularly in Ukambani, are trailing ODM-K candidates. They include Lands minister Kivutha Kibwana, Water minister Mutua Katuku, Livestock Development minister Joseph Munyao and Transport Minister Ali Chirau Mwakwere.

No comments: